top of page

The Eight Limbs of Yoga

Updated: Jan 9, 2023

  1. Yama - Ethics & Morals - Non-violence, Truthfulness, Non-Stealing, Continence (Self-restraint), Non-covetousness (desire for possess things that belong to someone else)

  2. Niyama - Five spiritual & self-discipline observances - cleanliness, contentment, spiritual austerities, study of scriptures and surrender to God - this does not need to be a physical God but rather your own truth

  3. Asana - The physical practice of Yoga Postures, care and respect of the physical body

  4. Pranayama - Breathing Practices to calm the central nervous system and quieten the mind

  5. Pratyahara - Control of the senses, drawing the attention inward, closing off from external distractions

  6. Dharana - The ability to concentrate on inner awareness, focusing on a single point, for example the breath

  7. Dhyana - Meditation - Unbroken flow of concentration

  8. Samadhi - Union with the Divine - A feeling of deep inner peace and calmness

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page